Review: Maybe One Day – Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day - Melissa Kantor Title: Maybe One Day
Author: Melissa Kantor
Publication Date: February 18th, 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen

You can add this book to Goodreads by clicking the cover.

My thoughts:
Usually I don’t read a lot of Contemporary YA, but this cover and the synopsis on Goodreads really made me curious. The book is about two best friends dealing with life after dancing. They both have to find a way to go on and Zoe, the narrator of this novel, has an extremely hard time to do that.

Overall, I really liked Zoe although she did have some questionable statements with which I did not disagree at all. I can imagine that some people are really turned off and don’t want to finish reading but for me this made Zoe real. Every person has flaws and despite her’s I still believe she is a genuinely nice person.

Suprisingly every character in this book was really nice. Despite the High School setting there wasn’t a single mean character and that is really hard to believe. Even the cheerleaders, who are usually portrayed as mean and disinterested people in YA novels where really, really, really nice. A bit too nice.

The chapters in this book were really short, and that really helped the book to flow. This book is fairly straightforwards, there is not a lot of deeper meaning, although the emotions are really intense. You really ride the rollercoaster of Zoe’s life with her.

I give this book 4 stars, because despite it’s flaws I kept reading. I was not dissappointed, the end was truly worth the read.

4 Stars

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

