Review: Slated – Teri Terry

Slated - Teri TerryTitle: Slated
Author: Teri Terry
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2012
Publisher:
Orchard Books
Genre: Dystopian
Series: Yes, book 1 of the Slated Trilogy

You can add this book to Goodreads by clicking the cover.

Goodreads Synopsis:
Kyla’s memory has been erased,
her personality wiped blank,
her memories lost for ever.

She’s been Slated.

The government claims she was a terrorist and that they are giving her a second chance – as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla’s mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?

My Thoughts
:
This books has been sitting on my shelf for way to long so to make it more pressing to read it, I decided to buy books 2 and 3 as well. Now that I have finished I am really wondering why the heck I waited so long to read this!

Character development really mimics the development of the plotline. When we get to know Kyla, the main character at the beginning of the book she seems so what naïve and really gullible. Because she has been slated, i.e. her memories have been removed, she has to learn everything from scratch. With every new thing Kyla learns and understand I understood a little bit more about the world. At first Kyla goes along with everyone but as she develops into a real person I got to see the bad side of Kyla’s world.

This book just starts you off with so many questions, and for every answer it provides you have two new questions. However, I did not find this frustrating, on the contrary: I made me want to read even faster. This book does however paint a really grim picture. Set in the future this book shows what happens when social control is taken to the extreme (as in a lot dystopian novels) and it fascinates me to what lengths people go to be free. I liked that Kyla was not instantly rebellious like you see in so many books but instead had to be convinced of how wrong things actually are in her world. I think this is the usual pattern; people often don’t know to what extent they are manipulated and restricted until they have given up all freedom and control. Kyla’s world is believable just because everything in it is already happing in some degree. Scary..

After some deliberation I decided to give this book 5 stars, despite the absence of the WOW-factor, because 1) I really, really enjoyed it and 2) there are just so many unexpected things that I have to know! You just don’t know who to trust at all.. All in all, read this! It is good especially if you like dystopian novels.

5 Stars

2 thoughts on “Review: Slated – Teri Terry

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

