DNF: All These Countries We’ve Invaded & Lonely Souls

I just used to think that I had to finish all the books I started. After all: I had either gone through the hassle of buying or borrowing them. Then I realized that there are so many books out there! I just don’t have the will and time anymore to push through something I don’t like. Especially if I am reading just for me. Here are to books I have tried to read in the past couple of months that were just not for me:

Lonely Souls - Karice Bolton Title: Lonely Souls (Witch Avenue Series #1)
Author: Karice Bolton

This is a ebook that I picked up on Amazon as a freebie. I wanted to read something with witches and this was the first thing I found on my iPad. My biggest problem with this book was that there were so many grammatical errors, spelling mistakes and run-on sentences. I tried to read over them but it annoyed me so much. I feel that however good this book can be, the writing is not good enough to compel me to finish it. My second problem was the main character, Triss. She does not know what she is doing. Her mother dissappears in chapter one and their is just zilch emotion. It was just so unbelievable. Just as unbelievable as her relationship with Logan. Huge case of insta-love, which I hate. Everypage was like: I like him but I shouldn’t and then everytime she gave in. She had no backbone at all. I managed to read about 90 pages before I gave up. I don’t have to like so I just don’t.

 

All The Countries We've Invaded - Stuart LaycockTitle: All These Countries We’ve Invaded
Author: Stuart Laycock

I picked this book up on a whim in a Book Depository 24 hour sale. It was really the title that made me buy it. This book is basically summing up all countries the UK has invaded. And that was all it was: a sum-up. The author was just throwing facts at me. He summed up some actors and some dates and that was it. I had hoped for some funny anecdotes and interesting tidbits of the different conflicts the UK faced over the centuries. Instead I just felt that the Laycock just put a bunch of wikipedia articles in a book, without adding anything new. I was done after 25 pages. I just could not stand another page.

Q: What is the lastest book you DNF?

4 thoughts on “DNF: All These Countries We’ve Invaded & Lonely Souls

    • I want to give love to them all, but I have just a limited amount of love to give. There is just too many good books out there to spend time on the ones you don’t like ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. Hurrah to us for taking the brave step and DNFing a book. I just got the courage to DNF a book days ago because I can’t stand it anymore. It wasn’t bad…it wasn’t good either but the connection wasn’t there.

    I am really sorry that these two didn’t work out for you. I don’t have words of comfort for you though because we’re the same. I always find it hard to DNF a book because I bought them with my own money so it’s kind of a waste. But then again, I just have to brave it because I am wasting my time.

    Hope that your succeeding reads will be wonderful ones, Jirrine!

    • Thank you so much for your kinds words :)! There are probably loads of other people out that there that do you like these books. We cannot all like the same thing ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for stopping by!

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

