LGBT Challenge

Ideally I would read books from all kinds of authors and with all kinds of characters, regardless of ethnicity, gender or sexual preference. The reality is, however, that the majority of the books I read up until 2014 where from white, female authors. Luckily more people in this book world think that is neccessary to diversy our reading. When perusing Lola’s blog Hit or Miss Books last week I came across a challenge that is perfect to do this!

LGBT Challenge - Fighting DreamerThe challenge is hosted by Cayce from Fighting Dreamer and you can still sign up until November 30th, 2014! The challenge is to read at least 3 books that have LGBT characters, which as far as I know is something I’ve never done. Sofar, I have only one book figured out and that is The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. My sister read it last month and she loved it! So far as other books are concerned it would love to hear some recommendations! Keep an eye out for the reviews that will come later this year :).

12 thoughts on “LGBT Challenge

  1. ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ is awesome! It’s one of my favorite books. Another great book with LGBT characters is ‘Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe’. It is so heartwarming and just great. ^_^ Good luck with the challenge!

  2. I actually rarely think about the author when I read a book, If I pick a book up it’s usually for the story or cover but I do admit that I have my favorite authors as everyone. Doing this challenge is a good thing though, I admit, to diversify our reading and I’m SO SO glad to know you’re participating. ^^ You only read ONE LGBT book? Well I’m going to be looking so forward to your reactions AKA reviews, I WILL keep an eye out, yes ma’am. 😉

  3. Pingback: Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky | Jirrine reads fiction

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

