Review: Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson

Second Chance Summer - Morgan MatsonTitle: Second Chance Summer
Author: Morgan Matson
Publication date: May 8, 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Genre/themes: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Series: No, this book is a standalone.

You can add this book to your Goodreads by clicking the cover.

Goodreads Synopsis:
Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.

My thoughts:
Taylor Edwards and her family are spending the summer at their summer house in Lake Phoenix, where they haven’t been for 5 summers. It also has been 5 summers since she last saw Lucy, her former best friend, and Henry, her childhood crush. Things didn’t end on a good note then and Taylor is afraid to go back. She, is however much more afraid for what is going to happen when summer ends.

This book gave me all the feels. Although it took some time for me to get really into the book, I usually experience this with contemporaries, I loved it so, so much. Taylor is a very realistic main character. When we get to know her she just got dumped, losing all her friends in the process. She feels lonely, and since her family doesn’t talk much she spends most of her days alone. Until she runs in to Lucy and Henry, both having not yet forgotten what happened in the last summer they spend together. At first, the relationship between Taylor and her family seemed really shallow but over the coarse of the book all these family dynamics change. A loose collection of people turns into a lovely group of tight knit friends. Forced to face the reality of her situation, Taylor fights her demons and stops running away from life. Taylor progressed immensly in this book and with every page I felt more that she was a wonderful person, that I would really have liked to meet her in real life.

Henry is one of the sweetest boys I have come across in books. He is just so good. He has good looks, but above all is really caring. Too often YA boys are though and arrogant, but Henry was just nice! I would have liked to read a little more of Henry :). All the characters in Second Chance Summer have a really distinct personality and that is what makes them so great.

The most beautiful thing about this book was Taylor’s relationship with her dad. Early on Taylor’s dad gets bad news, really bad news. This news sheds an entirely different light on Taylor’s bond with her father. Their bond has always been strong but she realizes that she knows so little about her father. In the last 60 pages of the book I could feel the love for her dad in every word and it was just so beautiful. Just as I was reading the very last page, my dad called me and that really hit home.

Although I knew from page one that something sad was going to happen Morgan Matson still managed to create so much emotions. I felt incredibly sad but I also felt so much love, at that moment especially for my dad. And let’s be honest, I bawled my eyes out. This was just a perfect book and I really recommend you read this. This was a 5 star book for me! I’ll definitely be checking out Morgan Matson’s other book Since You’ve Been Gone.

5 Stars

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

