Review: One for the Money – Janet Evanovich

One for the Money - Stephanie PlumTitle: One for the Money
Author: Janet Evanovich
Publication Date: January 1, 1994
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Genre: Mystery, crime, humor
Series: Yes, book 1 in the Stephanie Plum series

You can add this book to Goodreads by clicking the cover.

Goodreads Synopsis:
Pestered by her close New Jersey family, Stephanie Plum offers to catch high-school crush Joe Morelli, cop turned bail jumper, for her cousin Vinnie’s company. She questions “working girls” to find the missing girlfriend of vicious prizefighter Benito Ramirez while Joe secretly watches her back. Ranger mentors her and supplies vehicles when hers explode.

My thoughts:
This was the first time that I read a mystery novel. I have read Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series before, but I consider that to be a little bit more of a crime novel. This first book in the Stephanie Plum series was above all characterized by its humor. It was funny!

We are introduced to Stephanie Plum, fresh out of a job and on the lookout for a way to get some money. She can work for her cousin Vinnie as a bountyhunter and bring in 10,000 dollar for bringing in a guy she went to school with. From the get go I liked Stephanie. She has a great sense of humour and very down to earth. At times she makes the silly choices rather than the reasonable choices, which means that she sometimes get stuck in messy situations. She always, however, finds a way out :).

Stephanie is really new to the job and I like that this shows. She does not know how to bring someone in, or how to handle a gun. But over the course of One for the Money you see her learning and getting better. She has a realistic learning curve. I like to believe that if I’d have the guts, I could be just a though as Stephanie. She gets into some pretty creepy and scary situations but she stands her ground and is not letting anyone convince her otherwise.

Another character I would like to see more off in the coming books is Stephanie’s Grandmother. That woman was feisty! Despite her respectable age she just did whatever the heck she wanted. She only had a minor role in this book, but judging by the blurb of book 2 I might be seeing a lot more of her in Two for the Dough.

I also really enjoyed how Janet Evanovich handled the plotline. I thought that I knew where this was going after 50 pages. I was pleasantly suprise that the plot went an entirely different place. I wouldn’t have minded to have guessed the ending but not knowing made it so much better!

I give this book 4 stars because it was fun and highly enjoyable, without a very obvious plotline. I am glad that I have bought a boxset of the first three books because I sense that I’ll want to read a lot more of Stephanie Plum!

4 Stars

10 thoughts on “Review: One for the Money – Janet Evanovich

  1. I got stuck somewhere at 11 πŸ™‚ I really like Janet Evanovich – my husband looked at me funny when I laughed out loud. I think that secondary characters really make this series brilliant!

  2. The fact that you didn’t predict the ending is a very good thing. I don’t even remember the ending of the movie so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this book the same. It’s exciting! Stephanie looks funny indeed and hahahah I love her grandmother (if it’s the person I remember form the movie.) Hope you like the sequels as well love! Very good review. πŸ™‚

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

