Review: Voyager – Diana Gabaldon

Voyager - Diana GabaldonTitle: Voyager
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Publication Date: 1993
Publisher: Della Fiction
Genre/themes: Historical Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Time Travel, Adventure
Source: From my bookshelf
Series?: Yes, this is book 3 in the Outlander series

You can add this book to your Goodreads by clicking the cover.

WARNING, THIS IS BOOK 3 IN A SERIES, SO THIS REVIEW MIGHT CONTAIN SPOILERS.

Goodreads Synopsis:
Their passionate encounter happened long ago by whatever measurement Claire Randall took. Two decades before, she had traveled back in time and into the arms of a gallant eighteenth-century Scot named Jamie Fraser. Then she returned to her own century to bear his child, believing him dead in the tragic battle of Culloden. Yet his memory has never lessened its hold on her… and her body still cries out for him in her dreams.

Then Claire discovers that Jamie survived. Torn between returning to him and staying with their daughter in her own era, Claire must choose her destiny. And as time and space come full circle, she must find the courage to face the passion and pain awaiting her…the deadly intrigues raging in a divided Scotland… and the daring voyage into the dark unknown that can reunite or forever doom her timeless love.

My thoughts:
Voyager is the third book in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. I’ve been reading this series from quite some time now, because each and every book takes me a very long time to read. Most of the books have more than 1000 pages so they are serious projects. With that said: they are amazing! Putting a Diana Gabaldon book into a genre is simply not possible. It has almost everything: romance, historical fiction, battles, paranormal elements. These books are rollercoasters. Just when you think everything is settled down, Claire and Jamie are off to have another adventure.

Let’s back up a bit. This book starts in 1968, with Claire’s research of Jamie. She is back in her own time and believed Jamie to have died at Culloden. The first 250 pages alternate between Claire and Jamie’s perspective. Claire as she finds out what happened to Jamie in the pages of history, Jamie to fill in the blanks about all the events that didn’t quite make it to 1968. This was really cleverly done, because as a reader you get information that Claire and Jamie did not know about one another. With every page you are still wondering: will they ever find each other again? I wanted that to happen so bad! Claire and Jamie are perfect together. Their love for each other is just so genuine. Yes, things happen that shake their relationship but their love always prevails.

Diana Gabaldon created a great cast of side characters. There are really too much to mention here, but one I do want to mention in particular is Lord John Grey, especially because he has his own novels as well. John Grey is a beautiful person, born in the wrong time and fallen in love with the wrong person. But instead of letting his head down, he tries to make the best of his situation. He wants someone he can’t have but despite the unreciprocated love, he remains a true and loyal friend. Diana Gabaldon wrote his character perfectly. The longing becomes painfully clear in the few passages that we encounter him.

I really think that Diana Gabaldon is a great historical fiction author. With every page and every historical detail I just feel that it is based on truth, but it never reads like a history book or as list of facts. Over the course of the book I learned some interesting things about various historical events. It made me hungry for more!

The one that that does bother me about these books is that they need so much focus. I love them, I really do, but I need to take the time to read them and I don’t always have the time or the concentration to immerse myself in Jamie and Claire’s world. Sometimes I just want to dip my head into a book and make some good progress. These are not the books for that. I have learned to just really sit for these books, so if you read only short bits at a time this might not be for you. Having said that I want to read more. During the time covered in Voyager, Diana Gabaldon has also set the books about John Grey. Those will be my next reads before reading book 4, Drums of Autumn. This is really one of the best historical fiction books I’ve read but because it needs so much focus I give it 4 stars. I do really recommend you check out book 1 – Outlander.

4 Stars

 

10 thoughts on “Review: Voyager – Diana Gabaldon

  1. I think this series will be my big reading goal for 2015. Everyone and their mother keeps raving about how awesome it is, but the size of the books have scared me off. I just need to suck it up and jump in, lol.

    • I admit that is the reason why is taking me so long to read this series. I think that is why I’ve only read 1 book each year sofar. I hope to get going though, because I really want to see where it is going and I don’t want the show to spoil anything for me!

  2. Awesome review, Jirrine! Outlander is one of my favorite series, and I’ve read all of the John Grey stories as well (and even the Outlander graphic novel). It was heartbreaking to see things from both Claire and Jaime’s perspectives, right? Especially with 202 years separating them 😦
    Are you excited about the TV show? I know I am! Even if the actor playing Jaime doesn’t look like Jaime in my head 😉

    • I haven’t yet been able to see it. I might see if I can find a website where they do allow me to watch it :P. I plan on reading the Lord Grey novels and novella’s next to stay in chronological order. It is in my basket at The Book Depository so hopefully soon. Thanks for the compliment btw, I felt that this was one of the first reviews were I could really express what I did and didn’t like. Sometimes words fail me, lol. Thanks for stopping by, Lexxie 🙂

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

