Review: Carrier – Anne Tibbets

Carrier - Anne TibbitsTitle: Carrier
Author: Anne Tibbets
Publication Date: June 16, 2014
Publisher: Carina Press
Genre/themes: New Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia
Source: My iPad (ebook)
Series: Yes, this is book 1 in The Line series. Book 2 is scheduled to be published in December 2014.

Goodreads Synopsis:
Twenty-two -year-old Naya has spent nearly half her life as a sex slave in a government institution called The Line. When she’s kicked out after getting pregnant with twins, she’s got no way to earn a living and a horrifying choice to make: find someone to replace her, or have her babies taken in her stead.

A doctor with a history of aiding ex-Line girls, Ric Bennett, wants to help. He runs a team of rebels that can delete Naya’s records and free her forever. But when The Line sniffs out his plan, things get bloody, fast. Naya means more to them than just a chance at fresh faces—her twins are part of the government’s larger plan.

As they hide from government search parties, Ric comes to admire Naya’s quiet strength. And Naya realizes Ric might be a man she can trust. If they make it off the grid, they could build a new life. But first they’ll have to survive the long, vicious reach of The Line.

My thoughts:
Yes, where to begin with this one. Although I finished this book a couple of days ago I still have problems formulating my thoughts. I am however going to try.

The first chapter had me jumping up and down in my chair because it was so darn good. In chapter 1 we are introduced to Naya, who basically works as a sex slave for Central government. It was so unlike anything I’ve ever read and I like how things stayed ‘clean’. In mean with that that there were not vivid descriptions of things Naya had to do, but somehow Anne Tibbets painted a very realistic image of what happens on The Line. I think that things went a little bit downhill for me. I was so excited by chapter 1, and I expected this book to really go places and be different. Instead this felt, despite its bold subject, to be a standard dystopian.

I did really like the age groups these characters were in. Their actions made more sense because they felt more mature. Although Naya and Ric, her savior, are still relatively young (early twenties) they though things through, and where they did act on instinct they made logical decisions. I liked that, because I could identify with the characters. I am in my early twenties, so I could be them so to say. I did not like the the back and forth Naya had with her emotions. Her feelings seem both detached and fake. This could be because she had been working for the Line for 10 years and I can only imagine how much of a human shell you become. But still, I would have liked to like Naya more.

The setting was really interesting. They were in this place called Central, surrounded by four sectors called East, West, North & South. Might seem kind of inspiration-less but it actually makes a lot of sense. The government is not really a government but a corporation. Everything in Central is just a commodity. The sectors don’t need fancy names because that would give meaning to something that is not supposed to have meaning. The government remains faceless, and there is not one specific enemy. This is actually quite scary. Naya and Ric don’t really know who to take out. I hope to learn more in the sequel.

I really hoped that they were going to go places and do things. But instead they did not do a whole lot. There were some action scenes at the end that got things going again and which certainly make things interesting again. This is not to say that I don’t like the book. I had just expected more from it. The next book is scheduled to release this year and when it does I will read what is going to happen. I hope that Anne Tibbets is going to prove me entirely wrong and wow me with that one. So what I would like to say. Try this, because there are lot of people out that there that really, really liked The Carrier. If I felt a stronger connection to Naya, things might have be different.

3 Stars

9 thoughts on “Review: Carrier – Anne Tibbets

  1. Oh 😦 Too bad you didn’t enjoy this more, Jirrine! I thought it was great, but you already know that, right? I can understand completely what you mean about Naya, though, because I think she had been detached from her own emotions for so long it was difficult to feel anything at all, and when she did, it must have been difficult to trust those feelings.
    Great review!!

  2. Just from the synopsis, I was so intrigued, and then I read your thoughts and was like, “well, boo.” Sounds like a seriously missed opportunity, because the potential for that story to go somewhere was definitely there. Oh well, you know, I’d probably still read it just because that plot sounds fabulous! 😛

  3. Hmm, it is hard to really get into a story when you don’t identify with the MC. But, I’m hoping that, from the sound of the world building, this first installment was a setup for the sequel. And maybe Naya is going to show incredible character growth. I’m an optimist like that. 😉 Carrier does sound really intriguing, Jirrine. I do hope the next one fulfills all your expectations! Great review!

  4. Pingback: August 2014 – Recap | Jirrine reads fiction

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

