August 2014 – Recap

I set out to read a lot this month. At least 10 books! I am happy to report that so far I have read 13 books :D. At the beginning of the month I was a little behind on my Goodreads goal for this year (which is 100 books) but I am now happily on track again :).

In my August goal post, here, I set out the following general goals:
(1) I would like to read 10 books –> I read 13
(2) I would like to post 4 times a week here on Jirrine Reads Fiction –> I posted an average of 5 posts a week!
(3) I would like to finish a series –> Finished the future trilogy by Thea Beckman

In my goal post I mentioned 10 books that were on my tbr for August. Of those 10 I have read 4 and started 2 other ones. Logically I read quite a few other books this month as well, that weren’t part of my tbr. I really try to alternate my reads: new, old, new, old. In this way I hope to prevent that new books I ordered, books I really want to read, disappear on my bookshelf, to be read in a 2 years. I buy them for a reason right?

Books I read and reviewed this month:
Fahrenheit 451 - Ray BradburySecond Chance Summer - Morgan MatsonOne for the Money - Stephanie PlumThe Last Song - Nicholas SparksVoyager - Diana GabaldonAnna Dressed in Blood - Kendare BlakeMarvelous Misadventures of Sebastian - Lloyd AlexanderTwo for the Dough - Stephanie PlumCarrier - Anne Tibbits4327066

You can click the books to go the reviews!

Other books I read:
173786845129126381

Useless Statistics:
Gender: 5 male authors and 7 female authors
Pages read: 4571 pages
Formats: 3 audiobooks, 1 eBook and 9 print books
Target audience: 1 middle grade, 6 young adult, 1 new adult, 5 adult
Genre’s: 4 dystopian, 3 contemporary, 2 mystery, 2 historical fiction, 1 horror, 1 fantasy.
Goodreads goal: 66/100 read

Overall I am really happy with what I have read this month. I especially like the diversity of the books I read. I just want to try out everything just to make sure that I don’t let books lie because I think that I don’t like the genre. Anna Dressed in Blood was my first horror book and One for the Money was my first mystery books. Two new genres! I have big plans for September :). Stay tuned for that post, it will publish tomorrow!

PS. Today is the last day to enter my giveaway for Tomorrow When the War Began. You can find it here.

2 thoughts on “August 2014 – Recap

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

