Review: Prince Caspian – C.S. Lewis

587316Title: Prince Caspian
Author: C.S. Lewis
Publication Date: March 5, 2002 (First published 1951)
Publisher: Harper Trophy
Genre/themes: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Classic, Adventure
Source: From my own bookshelves
Series?: Yes, this is book 4 (Chronological Order)/book 2 (Publication Order) in the Chronicles of Narnia

You can add this book to Goodreads by clicking the cover.

Goodreads Synopsis:
The Pevensie siblings travel back to Narnia to help a prince denied his rightful throne as he gathers an army in a desperate attempt to rid his land of a false king. But in the end, it is a battle of honor between two men alone that will decide the fate of an entire world.

My thoughts:
I am reading the books in chronological order so this was the fourth book I read. So far it is also the best one. Especially since I was not really happy with book 3, this was a nice change of pace.

First off I am very glad we are back in Narnia. After all this is called the Chronicles of Narnia and not the Chronicles of the Neighboring Countries of Narnia. I also liked that the for me typical characters of Narnia, the Pevensies and Aslan, were featured in this story. This story was just so much better than the last one. First, adventure. Real adventure! It has been a year since the Pevensie children returned from the wardrobe and they are off to boarding school. All of sudden they are magically sucked back to Narnia. In the year that they have been gone, time has gone a lot faster in Narnia. In their absence another line of kings have come to power, kings that have driven away the true inhabitants of Narnia. But there is an alternative: Prince Caspian!

I liked how the involvement of Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy was not clear right away. It did not give away that much and that is really important with such short novels. Because of the shortness it often becomes very predictable what is going to happen. Of course, Middle Grade fantasy has a guaranteed happy ending so I could guess which direction the book was going to go but still, a lot was left to my imagination.

I love the quirky characters of all the animals in this novel! The lazy bear, the valiant mouse and the clever badger! They really make this story so magical, especially for children. Nothing is more awesome than talking animals! I would love to have a talky and fuzzy squirrel :). The only thing that I did not really like was the quick resolve in the end. The build-up towards the end is good, and there are certainly a lot of scenes I enjoyed but all of a sudden it was the end. I cannot really extend this review that much longer because I will be giving away to much of the story then. Let’s just say that I hope that the last 3 have the same level of entertainment as this one!

4 Stars

6 thoughts on “Review: Prince Caspian – C.S. Lewis

    • Luckily they are really quick reads. I own them in Mass Market paperback size and not one of them is over 250 pages. And there are illustrations as well. Certainly a series you can read in a week ;). And yes, this is a movie which I haven’t watched. But now I can :)!

    • This one, Prince Caspian. I had already book 1 and 2 so my reread of those did not really add anything to my experience. Book 3 was meh. Prince Caspian was both a first read and a true Narnia book :). Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

