Review: Girl of Nightmares – Kendare Blake

Girl of Nightmares - Kendare BlakeTitle: Girl of Nightmares
Author: Kendare Blake
Publication date: August 7, 2012
Publisher: Orchard Books
Genre/themes: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Horror, Ghosts, Supernatural
Source: From my own bookshelf
Series?: This is the second and final book in the Anna series

You can add this book to Goodreads by clicking the cover.

WARNING, THIS IS BOOK 2 IN A SERIES, REVIEW CAN CONTAIN SPOILERS.

Goodreads Synopsis:
Cas Lowood is no ordinary ghost hunter – he’s in love with a dead girl. Her name is Anna Korlov. Anna Dressed in Blood. The girl who sacrificed herself to save his life. Racked with guilt, Cas sets out to do what he does best – hunt a ghost. But this time his aim is not to kill. He must rescue Anna from the depths of Hell. But Hell is also home to a creature Cas has battled before…Just your average boy meets girl, girls gets sucked into hell story.

My thoughts:
I was disappointed with this. After reading Anna Dressed in Blood I was really surprised with the YA Horror genre. Girl of Nightmares did not live up to the expectations set by Anna. And that really bummed me out.

First off, I thought that Cas was incredibly selfish throughout the first half of the book. His mom worries about him so much and he just totally disregards her emotions. Not once, not twice, but all the time. She is the only family she has left and Cas puts himself into danger over and over again. Since he is not particularly careful with himself I cannot imagine the dread his mother must have gone through. I just could not understand why we was so self-centered. He just demanded so much of his mom and friends and really gave them nothing in return. I was amazed that they were willing to put up with his ego. They must have been super good friends to go through that and still remain loyal. The second half was better. Cas started to realize that his behavior was negatively effecting his mother and became more careful. From then onwards he also tried to keep Thomas and Carmel out of his business. But, guess what, they were not going to let themselves get chased away. Convenient, huh?

This book was really not scary at all. Really hard if your trying to be a horror book. In Anna Dressed in Blood I had a few arm hair raising moments but there was only one scene in Girl of Nightmares where I was generally spooked. That scene was not even really long. That was perhaps my biggest disappointment; not living up to his genre. If this had been a paranormal book, fine. But this is a horror book and it was not scary. And there was not a whole lot of action. Certainly in the middle the book dragged. Never a good sign.

What did I like? Most of all the ending. For once (without spoiling) Cas was not selfish. He did what was best for all the parties involved. It gave the book a really neat, closed-off ending. There was no argument and no chance to get back from it. I like it when there are no loose ends. The last couple of scenes in general were just really good. I would have liked that much action throughout the book though. Another thing I liked was the further development of Thomas and Carmel. They really became more and more there own characters. I already found this a huge plus point in Anna Dressed in Blood, but in this it became more evident. I really liked the world, although I am glad that ghost are not real, and the concept of Cas’ astame sending away those ghost is really cool. Despite my disappointment about this book, because it just couldn’t live up to my expectations, I am definitely going to check out more of Kendare Blake’s books because I do really like her writing :).

3 Stars

5 thoughts on “Review: Girl of Nightmares – Kendare Blake

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

