Review: Three to get Deadly – Janet Evanovich

Three to get Deadly - Stephanie PlumTitle: Three to get Deadly
Author: Janet Evanovich
Publication date: February 15, 1997
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Genre/themes: Mystery, Humor, Crime
Source:
From my own bookshelf
Series?: Yes, the is book 3 in the Stephanie Plum series.

You can add this book to Goodreads by clicking the cover.

WARNING THIS IS BOOK 3 IN A SERIES. THIS REVIEW MIGHT CONTAIN SPOILERS.

Goodreads Synopsis:
A “saintly” old candy store owner is on the lam – and bounty hunter extraordinaire Stephanie Plum is on the case. As the body count rises, Stephanie finds herself dealing with dead drug dealers and slippery fugitives on the chase of her life. And with the help of eccentric friends and family, Steph must see to it that this case doesn’t end up being her last….

My thoughts:
Stephanie is tasked with bringing in candy store owner Moses. Mo is a well loved member of the community and nobody believes that he could be capable of doing anything illegal. Stephanie runs into a lot of hostility and seems to be stuck, nobody willing to help her. Except of course, Joe Morelli who would do anything to catch the bad guys!

This was such a fun book! One for the Money was my first venture into mystery and I haven’t yet regretted it. The Stephanie Plum novels are funny and mysterious at the same time! Stephanie is still in the process of learning bounty hunting and like I have said before, this is one of the most realist aspect of the novels. I would not have believed in she had turned bounty hunter extraordinaire overnight; the fact that she is still make lots of (funny) mistakes really makes her super endearing!

I was a little disappointed that Grandma Mazur did not have a large role in this book. I really like her Two for the Dough and I had hoped to see more of her. I expect that she will show up in future novels though ;). Instead Stephanie had a different sidekick in Three to get Deadly. A woman, who packs a little bit more punch than Grandma Mazur. Lula, now also working for Vinnie’s bond agency, was a hooker that Stephanie rescued in One for the Money. Since then, Lula is looking for ways to repay Stephanie for her kindness. She feels that the best way to do this, is aiding Stephanie in her research into Mo. Lula is a kick ass woman and I would not want to meet her angry. She is also really funny and has hilarious one liners! Lula, however, has an intense aversion for law-enforcement so Stephanie found herself alone and abandoned more than once, which made for some awkward situations :).

The only down side of this book was that the ending was a little hard to follow. The ending made sense but I did not really quite get how Stephanie connected the dots to get to the conclusion. I might have read over the lines but still it could have been a little clearer! Nothing really major wrong with this book. It is just really enjoyable :).

The last thing I want to mention is that I think that all three Stephanie Plum novels I read so far were all really original. They have widely varying story lines and I don’t have the feeling that I am reading episodes of a TV show where the patterns are always the same. Hopefully Janet Evanovich will keep me guessing in books to come! I have ordered book 4 and 5 a few days ago so hopefully I’ll get them soon.

4 Stars

4 thoughts on “Review: Three to get Deadly – Janet Evanovich

  1. I’ve never tried any of J. Evanovich’s book because (this might sound so shallow but) I though the name Stephanie Plum is so chick-lit. *roll eyes* I know I know that was so low of me lol.

    • Haha, I understand. Sometimes when I see certain covers I do the same. But, never judge a book by its cover (or the main characters name lol) because these are really fun!

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

