Review: The Book of Tomorrow – Cecilia Ahern

6631792Title: The Book of Tomorrow
Author: Cecilia Ahern
Publication Date: January 1, 2009
Publisher: Harper Collins
Genre/themes: Mystery, Fantasy, Contemporary, Chick Lit, Magic Realism
Source: My local library
Series?: No this is a standalone.

You can add this book to Goodreads by clicking the cover.

Goodreads Synopsis:
Born into the lap of luxury and comfortable in the here and now, spoiled, tempestuous Tamara Goodwin has never had to look to the future–until the abrupt death of her father leaves her and her mother a mountain of debt and forces them to move in with Tamara’s peculiar aunt and uncle in a tiny countryside village.
Tamara is lonely and bored, with a traveling library as her only diversion. There she finds a large leather-bound book with a gold clasp and padlock, but no author name or title. Intrigued, she pries open the lock, and what she finds takes her breath away.
Tamara sees entries written in her own handwriting, and dated for the following day. When the next day unfolds exactly as recorded, Tamara realizes she may have found a solution to her problems. But in her quest to find answers, Tamara soon learns that some pages are better left unturned and that, try as she may, she mustn’t interfere with fate.

My thoughts:
I was so misled by the cover and the author. To be honest, I had expected to find a romancy, chick-lit type book. Instead I found an amazing story, full of magic and mystery. So much more than I had bargained for and therefore it exceeded all of my expectations.

Tamara was the one that found him; her father after he killed himself. Turns out that daddy has immense debts and she and her mom are losing everything. Since they no longer have a house they move to rural Irish countryside to leave with Tamara’s uncle and aunt. One day she finds a blank diary in a traveling library. The next day, however, the diary is not so empty.

This was such an amazing book <3! With every page there was more mystery. Mystery about the diary, mystery about her mother who since moving only sleeps, about her aunt who wants to control everything and then there is that mysterious house on the other side of the road, where Tamara is not allowed to go. Questions, I had so many questions. I just wanted to know so bad what the hell was going on! This book was like a puzzle. Every few pages there was a new clue, that exposed a little bit more about all the weird stuff that was going on. But there were always such plausible explanations for the mystery that at one point I began to question Tamara’s sanity, and even my own! I was totally ready for a very disappointing end, but instead the ending I got was everything I hoped for. Like I said, the entire story fitted together like a puzzle!

Tamara was an amazing narrator. She left nothing out. Especially her self-reflection was very inspiring. Tamara is not a nice person. If I would have met her like she was at the beginning of The Book of Tomorrow, I would never have liked her in a million years. But Tamara knows this about herself. Under all the harshness and meanness, Tamara is just a young woman afraid of abandonment. Coming from a one child household, where her parents were already busy, she feels really alone. This loneliness drives her to lash out against anybody that is coming close, even people that mean very well to her. I have a lot of respect for the side characters in this book. They had to put up with a lot of trouble and a lot of bad mouthing from Tamara, but they all saw the goodness in her. Brick for brick the wall around Tamara came down.

I also really liked the concept of the diary. I won’t give away to much about it because you have to find out for yourself what the impact of the diary is. I can say that it was really cool concept and it added a lot of magic to the story. I would have liked even more diary! But in the end I totally agreed with Tamara’s decision concerning the diary. It prevented her from fully living!

The setting of this book was also really magical. Tamara’s aunt and uncle live on the grounds of a burned down castle, in rural Ireland. The descriptions about the former glory of the castle and the chapel were amazing. The story just really fit into the setting and added to the mystery. After long walks through the empty woods and a visit to a scorched castle I would start to question the freaky things too! All in all this was an amazing book that really went above and beyond my expectations. I am certainly glad that my prejudice towards this cover did not stop me from reading it! Consequently I have added all of Cecilia Ahern’s books to my wishlist :).

5 Stars

4 thoughts on “Review: The Book of Tomorrow – Cecilia Ahern

  1. Pingback: September 2014 Recap | Jirrine reads fiction

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)

