August Reading Goals

I am a list person. I love nothing more than ticking something off. Whether it be highlighting something in a online document or physically ticking a box, I makes me feel immensely satisfied. So to satisfy my inner list freak I’ve set myself quite a lot of challenges this year. There is one, the LGBT challenge, I am officially participating in but there are dozen challenges I started at the begin of the year just for me. They are all challenges from blogs but I haven’t officially signed-up because I did not have a blog yet to sign-up with. I still, however, want to complete the challenges. Therefore I will be making a reading list for August here :).
First there are some general goals for August:
(1) I would like to read 10 books
(2) I would like to post 4 times a week here on Jirrine Reads Fiction
(3) I would like to finish a series

This is my preliminary TBR for August:
IMG_2823[1]

From top to bottom:
(1) Purple Hibiscus – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
This book is for an African Reading Challenge and qualifies as a book from an African author.

(2) Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake
(3) Girl of Nightmares – Kendare Blake
These two books will qualify for reading a series (or in this case duology).

(4) The Concubine of Shanghai – Hong Ying
This book is also a book for my Summer Reading Challenge, and also counts for an Historical Fiction challenge.

(5) Under the Dome – Stephen King
Book will count for my Summer Reading challange as well.

(6) The Owl Keeper – Christine Brodien-Jones
Counts for both Summer Reading and MG/YA Standalone challenge.

(7) Het Gulden Vlies van Thule – Thea Beckman
With this book I finish another series and it will count as one of the categories (book set in the future) for a montly challenge.

(8) The Passage – Justin Cronin
I own this book in Dutch but want to read it in English. This will count for a tbr challenge.

Not pictured:
(9) Dead to the World – Charlaine Harris
This is book 5 in the Sookie Stackhouse series and qualifies as a book for the Sookie challenge.

(10) The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky
This book will qualify for the LGBT challenge I signed up for earlier this week.

Q: Have you read any of these?

6 thoughts on “August Reading Goals

  1. Hope you get to read all the books and reach your goals!! I’m terrible that sticking to reading goals so I’ve learnt not to set them and let things take its course… Probably because I’ll never get as organized as you :)) All the best and have a great August!

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

    • Thank you! I think the reason it works for me is because goals really motivate me to read more and branch out. Without them I am kind of lost. Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)