Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars - Movie
This review is going to be a little different that I would normally have done. I watched this movie with my sisters, all three of us have read the book. So this is going to be a review by the three of us :)!

Jirrine:
I really, really liked this movie! I wanted to see this movie so badly and then there is always the risk that it is going to disappoint. It has been over a year since I read the book and although familiar with the story I did not really see scenes that were missing from the book. I think that this was a good thing, because I could not view this as separate from the book. I think that Shailene Woodley was very convincing as Hazel. She really gave it a 100% and I think that showed. Oh and Augustus.. Although he looked nothing like the Augustus I envisioned he was just so cute! The smile he gave Hazel could melt ice in Antarctica. I liked how some funny sentences from the book where used in the movie, especially in the pre-breakfast scene in Amsterdam, where (spoiler!) Augustus tells Hazel that the cancer has returned. From that moment I just couldn’t keep it dry anymore. I think it is really clever that the producers have created this movie, and although I know what is going to happen, it still evokes so much emotion. I laughed and I cried and I was so intensely sad. I haven’t seen Divergent yet so it was not weird from me to see Shailene and Ansel together again. I can understand that others, who saw both, have a problem with that. Overall, a great movie! I will, however, watch some time before watching it again because of all the feels..

Jasmilla:
This was the first time for me that I’ve seen a movie AFTER I’ve read the book. So, naturally, I had high expectations because the book brought me to tears. What I really liked about the movie is that they’ve kept so much of the original dialog, the book was so well written by John Green. Even though the film edit left out so many parts, they left out nothing that was viable for a great story. You still feel the friendship and love between Augustus and Hazel and you still feel their pain. What I thought was just brilliant, kudos to the director/producers/writers, was that they actually made me and my sisters cry hard during the movie, while we all read the book! We knew what was coming but it still made us emotional. That is a huge compliment I think to John Green who wrote the book brilliantly, but also a very big compliment to the filmmakers, who, with their music and fantastic complementing scenes and shots made the movie one to remember.

Juliske:
For the last 30 minutes I only cried. It was a very good movie, but I would really recommend that people read the book first. There you get more details about the story and that makes the entire thing more complete, although it is not necessary for the understanding of the movie. The movie is still logical without the details. Before the book I had already seen that Shailene Woodley was going play Hazel Grace, so she was already in my head. I had not seen Ansel Elgort yet but he played Augustus precisely as I imagined.

Did you enjoy the Fault in Our Stars as well?

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Thank you for your comment! I love to read them :)